You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

20-8-2017 20:36:56  #1

Underwood Ribbon Not Advancing

Hello!

I recently purchased an Underwood typewriter (I'm not sure the model, but I think that maybe it is a Number 3, but I could be mistaken). All the parts are in working order besides the fact that I can't get the ribbon to advance. All the screws seem to be tight and all the parts are moving if I manually feed it by turning the handle on either side of the machine (sorry, I'm quite new to owning and researching typewriters, so I'm still unsure of what all the parts are called). I've tried flipping the ribbon over and seeing if I had just inserted the ribbon wrong, but that did not fix the issue. There seems to be no tension to actually cause the ribbon to move when any key is pressed, and I was wondering if anyone might know how to fix this, or what I can do to fix this? 

20-8-2017 21:18:16  #2

Re: Underwood Ribbon Not Advancing

Just saw your other post -- sorry you are having problems. Does the carriage move when you hit the space bar, or when you type? If not, maybe you have insufficient tension on the mainspring. Or maybe you don't have the ribbon threaded correctly. Does the carriage move back and forth smoothly when you release the carriage (the levers on either end of the platen)? If not, then the carriage may be gummed up and needs cleaning in order for the whole mechanism to work.Just my two cents of basic things to check out.

20-8-2017 21:29:52  #3