You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

23-9-2017 05:39:51  #1

Olympia Traveller Deluxe or Olivetti Tropical?

I live in Spain, and had the good fortune to find what was clearly  described as an Olympia Traveller Deluxe in a charity shop. Although I am new to typewriters, I recognised that it needed a new ribbon. When the ribbon arrived, it would not fit. After contacting the supplier, and sending him photos he told me it was an Olivetti Tropical and not an Olympia Traveller Deluxe. Photos of both seem to confirm this. The ribbon spool indicates made in Brazil, so I guess the machine was made there too? Can anyone tell me why this was sold as a different brand, or anything more about its history? Many thanks. 

PS I am new to this too board, so not sure how to attach a photo. Thanks

'Life is too short to stuff a mushroom'

24-9-2017 10:11:27  #2

Re: Olympia Traveller Deluxe or Olivetti Tropical?

Welcome to the forum, Barry.

The Olivetti Tropical (http://typewriter.boardhost.com/viewtopic.php?pid=4228#p4228) was sold as a different brand from the Traveller because it's not an Olympia - it's a completely different machine. There's is a lot of speculation surrounding the history of this Brazilian-made Olivetti that apparently uses the mechanical works of a Hermes Baby. Some bloggers have erroneously stated that it has the coachwork of an Olympia Traveller, which is completely wrong; not only are all the dimensions of this typewriter’s case different, its profile is not even the same. The Traveller is flatter, has a deeper lip at the spacebar, and most notably it doesn’t have the raised rear panel behind the carriage that this Olivetti model has.

The pronoun has always been capitalized in the English language for more than 700 years.

24-9-2017 16:50:59  #3