You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

17-11-2017 18:09:35  #1

Ribbon holder won't move up when I type

I am new to typewriters, so please forgive me for my lack of correct terminology. I recently got my grandma's old typewriter, and I found that the thing that holds the ribbon and moves it up when I type isn't working. The typewriter is a Royal typewriter. I don't know what kind it is, but I found a serial number A-2023986 if that's any help. There's a triangle shaped lever to the right of the holder that has two positions: up and right. I tried both positions and only a few times did the holder move up right afterwards, however it did not make a lasting difference and the typewriter continues to not move up. Any suggestions?
P.S. I'd like to include a few pictures of the typewriter to possibly help with any answers, but I don't know how. Any suggestions?

17-11-2017 20:22:51  #2

Re: Ribbon holder won't move up when I type

Hi, and welcome. The triangle-shaped thing I think your describing sounds like the card finger. It's function is to hold things like the tops of thick paper closer to the platen, and wouldn't affect the movement of the ribbon vibrator  (the moving part you are talking about) unless it is catching on that part, which it should not.