You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

29-11-2017 19:11:32  #1

HELP! I am a beginner and went to far with taking apart a Remington

Please help, I am a beginner at restoring typewriters and have taken apart my Remington Monarch 196X to far. I did not follow the warnings of being careful to not go to far.

I was trying to get down deep to remove all dust and grime, I took many pictures along the way but could not get pictures of everything. 

Nothing broke and no items were lost along the way.

Am I SOL?!?! or is there assembly instruction online somewhere?!!?

29-11-2017 23:29:00  #2

Re: HELP! I am a beginner and went to far with taking apart a Remington

Well, if you took pictures in should not be so difficult, but depends what pictures you did! Try to mount it as much as you can and post pictures of where are you stuck, maybe someone can help you if they have a machine like that, but don't leave it for later and do it now while you are still fresh and you didn't loose any piece. Good luck with that,  you learnt something very important there, typewriters are not really simple to take apart and build again and sometimes is better to leave it a bit dirty rather than doing a work that you certainly cannot accomplish, yet.

30-11-2017 23:21:05  #3

Hi MS11

​You may need to drive a few or many miles, but there is always the option of locating a typewriter repair shop and taking in the box of parts. I run a small engine repair shop, and I've lost count over the years of how many machines have been brought to me in a box of pieces. This then becomes a matter of economic feasibility as to whether it's worth my time at shop rate to put the machine back together Vs the customer putting that money towards a new machine.