You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

09-7-2014 11:00:02  #1

Optima Elite 3 - Carriage Won't Stay Put

So, I bought this beautiful Elite 3 last week (sorry, terrible photo - can't find my proper camera).

To put it simply, once the carriage lock is disengaged, the carriage won't remain in place. It moves fully to the left - with quite a lot of force - and if I push it back to the right it won't stay there.

I'm a complete newbie to typewriters, but here are some facts that might (hopefully) help diagnose the problem:

- Neither typing nor using the space bar advances the carriage, but pressing the space bar or fully depressing a letter key will hold the carriage in place, until the key is released.

- I can depress the carriage release lever, and it appears to operate fully (and return to its original position when released).

For all I know, that's the equivalent of going to a car mechanic with a seized engine and saying, "Well, the mirrors are fine!" but I figure more information is probably better than less.

I'd hugely appreciate any help or advice on this one - very few things could make me happier than getting this beauitful old machine up and running.

Cheers,
-Dan

09-7-2014 12:30:50  #2

Re: Optima Elite 3 - Carriage Won't Stay Put

Sounds to me like an issue with the escapement, or possibly even the tabulator.

How mechanically inclined are you? Unless you're comfortable with disassembling and reassembling machinery, this might not be a repair that you should attempt.