You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

29-8-2014 15:12:43  #1

Newbie question with an Olivetti M40

Hi everyone!

I'm from France (so sorry for my english, everyeone knows the cliché that says french people doesn't know how to talk another language ), and I'm a newbie in typewriter.

Actually I'm a fountain-pen fan, and my love for these writing tools led me to love everything related to writing.
So I really wanted to acquire an old typewriter.

And I finally realised this dream recently, I found an old and dusty typewriter in a thrift shop, for only 10€ (so only 13~14$), so I thought it wasn't a big investment, even if I can't figure how to make it work.

I made some research on the internet to know a little more about it, and I think it is an Olivetti M40 II, but tell me if I'm wrong!

And here comes my first problem:
This is my first own typewriter ever, and the first I have in my hands since the "old" 80's typewriter I played with when I was a kid in the late 90's, and I have absolutely no clue how to change the ink ribbon.  (I told you, this is a newbie question!)
The one that is still in the typewrtier is completely dry, and I don't know how to remove the ribbon spool, I thought you just have to pull it out, but I can't do it just like that, it looks like it's stuck. Do you know if I have to unscrew something or anything like that?

So here's my second question: Is it easy to find a ribbon for this typewriter? I don't really know where I can find it, or the good sellers on the internet.

Last edited by aldaris (29-8-2014 15:22:48)

30-8-2014 12:14:21  #2

Re: Newbie question with an Olivetti M40

Beautiful typewriter! I've always wanted an M40, but they aren't very common in Canada and I'm too cheap to pay for the shipping for such a big machine.