You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

17-7-2015 19:51:21  #1

Brother Electric cutting the tops off letters?

Ok, so I'm fairly new to typewriters; haven't owned one in 20 years give or take, and I recently bought a Brother Cassette Correct-o-Riter portable electric off of eBay. It worked fine until I changed out the ribbon. Now, if I have it set to print instead of correct, half of the character prints, i.e. if I punch in a semi-colon, it appears as a comma. The ink ribbon is the same width as the previous one, if a bit longer. Ink-wise, it's fine, what little of the letter appears on the page is still as dark as it was when the ribbon was brand new. I have no idea what the problem is.

I'm tempted to think it's the vibrator, because I can pull it up and get a clean strike, but it never pops up that high by itself. Any ideas?

18-7-2015 01:24:44  #2

Re: Brother Electric cutting the tops off letters?

I would clean the typewriter some more, especially the ribbon vibrator mechanism. Usually Q-tips and alcohol works well for getting off grime and dust.

A high schooler with a lot of typewriters. That's pretty much about it.

18-7-2015 07:53:12  #3

Try cleaning the ribbon vibrator. Also, typewriters will start to break more and more the less they are used, so some use may fix it.

Back from a long break.

Starting fresh with my favorite typer. A Royal Futura!

18-7-2015 07:57:54  #4

Do you still have the cassette you took out?  If you out that back in, does it still only print half a letter?  If it is at the end of the ribbon, I believe you can manually rewind it a bit to check this out,  trying to narrow down here, is it simply some issue with the new cassette or is it something else that happened coincidentally when you changed the cassette.

20-7-2015 21:34:15  #5