You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

12-10-2015 11:02:18  #1

Sticky carriage on Underwood 5

The question is about a machine I believe to be an Underwood 5, S/N 1839551-5

Besides a few sticky keys the main problem is that the carriage feels like it is mired in extra heavy molasses. It types fine in slow motion, allowing .5 - 1.0 seconds between keystrokes for the carriage to ooze a space over. Spring tension seems to be fine or even excessive: the carriage is hard to move around even by hand so it's surprising the spring can pull it over at all.

What would be the areas of highest expected payoff to seek out and destroy the gunk that is causing this? I am a newbie to typewriter maintenance so any hints on technique would be most welcome! I am also a newbie to this forum, so please forgive any faux-pas on my part, and gently correct them.

I have a photo of the machine linked and ready, but forum rules prevent me from posting it yet!

"Damn the torpedoes! Four bells, Captain Drayton".

12-10-2015 11:59:34  #2

Re: Sticky carriage on Underwood 5

If it's difficult to move with the carriage release pressed, then you have already isolated the problem to the carriage transport components, which on older Underwood standards are susceptible to rusting. Check for signs of rust – heavier rust will require light sanding using a fine grit paper – and clean everything thoroughly using mineral spirits (Varsol in Canada or white spirits if you’re in the U.K.). The mineral spirits will degrease, and help remove light rust. The carriage should be move very easily before you would even consider about adding a few drops of sewing machine oil to the parts you just cleaned.

The pronoun has always been capitalized in the English language for more than 700 years.

12-10-2015 15:54:30  #3