You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

17-12-2015 13:23:29  #1

Olivetti Lettera 32 Carriage Problem

Hi everyone,

I'm new to restoring typewriters, and bought a rickety Olivetti-Underwood Lettera 32, intending to use it for parts, only to find it really has only one problem, which is that the carriage wants always to slide with rapid speed to the left whenever it's released; it isn't catching as it's supposed to, to allow for typing. 

I found a way to fix it temporarily. Investigating things, I found that there was dirt and dust and probably asbestos throughout it--specifically, jamming the little teeth along the bottom of the carriage. I cleaned out what I could, and what I couldn't get at with a q-tip I tried to reach by pouring a conservative portion of denatured alcohol into where I thought it would reach the obscurer of the carriage's bottom-teeth. 

Lo and behold, it flushed a lot more of the asbestos out and--even better--the carriage was now catching and moving back and forth but also stopping when it was supposed to. I felt good about myself for a full fifteen minutes.

The next day, I returned triumphant to the typewriter and tried it again to congratulate myself on a job well done and, lo and behold, it was doing the slidey not-catching thing it was doing before. 

Does any helpful person have ideas for what this is about? Do I need to do this multiple times? Is it bad for my family that I've undertaken typewriter restoration?

Any help is appreciated.

17-12-2015 15:02:33  #2

Re: Olivetti Lettera 32 Carriage Problem