You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

07-6-2013 17:42:33  #1

How to fix a skipping carriage?

We've had questions about non-moving carriages and growling carriages, now one about skipping carriages. I've now accumulated three typewriters that have skipping problems, each slightly different. One slides uncontrollably at the beginning and end of its lateral progression, one skips a space from time to time at random, and one skips after the "a" is typed.
     Does anyone have a semi-general bit of advice regarding carriage movement that might point me in the right direction for fixing all of these machines? I'm a rank amateur when it comes to internal workings, so no danger of talking down to me. Assume (correctly) that I know nothing.
Thanks!
AF

07-6-2013 22:27:08  #2

Re: How to fix a skipping carriage?

My reading tells me that carriage-skipping is due to worn out teeth and spokes on the escapement mechanism, or possibly, the mechanism not functioning properly (due to friction, gunk, lack of lubrication etc). 

If the former is at fault, I'm not sure that you can do anything about it. If the latter is the issue, then the typewriter requires cleaning and/or lubrication, which is much easier to do. But should still be done with care. 

"Not Yet Published" - My History Blog
"I just sit at a typewriter and curse a bit" - Sir Pelham Grenville "P.G." Wodehouse
"The biggest obstacle to professional writing is the necessity for changing a typewriter ribbon" - Robert Benchley

08-6-2013 16:48:44  #3