You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

25-1-2016 10:20:32  #1

Weird Project: Custom slugs?

Hello All,

Brand new here and don't know much about typewriters. I'm a graphic designer and am toying with the idea of designing a modern monospaced font and actually putting it on a typewriter. It seems like an interesting idea to have an old looking machine produce modern typography (especially since mono spaced fonts are becoming cool again in the digital space) I have access to CNC to fabricate slugs but despite my searches I haven't quite been able to figure out if this is doable or worth it. I do understand this will be quite a process with some risk of flat out ruining a good typewriter, but my main questions are:

1. What type of type writer will be the easiest to modify i this way? I was guessing just a cheap, portable, mechanical one would be simplest and least risky? I am open to any type, but want one that will work reliably be it new or reconditioned.
2. How are the slugs attached to the lever arms? What is the best way to remove and attach new slugs?
3. Given that I can reproduce a slug to specification, what other considerations are there in attaching them? (Angle of attachment to lever, angle of impact with ribbon/paper,etc)

Thank you!

25-1-2016 10:32:36  #2

Re: Weird Project: Custom slugs?

Hi Addisonian,

This sounds like an interesting project.  It shouldn't be too hard to find a clunker machine to modify.

1. Most machines are going to be similar as far as the typebars and the slugs.
2. The slugs are soldered onto the type bars.  They can be taken off easily with a torch.
3. Angle of attachment is very important.  As far as I know professional typewriter repair people used some sort of jig to get stuff aligned correctly.  It has to be at the right angle to strike the paper properly, and it has to be lined up so that it fits through the slot in the ribbon vibrator assembly (not sure what the proper name for this is).