You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

03-3-2016 04:31:02  #1

Remington Noiseless 6 Cleaning and Platen Repairs

Hello.
I am rather new in the typewriter community so please bare with me if I get some of the terminology wrong. I recently acquired a Remington Noiseless 6 (stationary) at an auction and to my surprise it was very much in working order, save for the cracked up platen, the paper bail rollers, the copious amount of dust inside it, as well as the lack of tabulator stops. I don't quite know what to do next, so I'd highly appreciate some advice.

I don't think I could possibly get all the dust out by hand and I've found no safe way to remove the type bar assembly to reach it all. Is there any danger that I'll screw up some mechanism if I were to stick a pipe cleaner in there or is compressed air a better option?

Regarding the platen, it looks rather cracked up (see the pictures) but I don't know if it's just on the surface of if it goes deeper. If it is just the surface layer would it be possible to sand off that layer and build upon the old rubber with large shrinking tube, or would it be a better idea to remove it altogether? Is there any preferred DIY material for replacement? I have also tried removing the platen to take some measurements but decided against it after fiddling about with it for a while. If there is anyone who might happen to know how it is removed on this particular model I'd be very grateful.    

Similarly, as you can also see in the pictures, the paper bail roller have seen better days. Is there by any chance a good way to replace them? 
Here are some full resolution pictures: https://goo.gl/photos/hFCJR8WgEhHJAPZJ8

03-3-2016 06:32:36  #2

Re: Remington Noiseless 6 Cleaning and Platen Repairs