You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

11-7-2016 07:35:45  #1

Vibrator slipping ...

Okay, first post, I think I found someplace to get answers. I hope ...

I have a smith corona classic 12, late 60's early 70's. The problem is the vibrator is slipping and letting the ribbon float out of the thing., NOW I know SC has two vibrators. One is like the one in this unit, it looks like a "U" and you slip it in from the top, and it is supposed to keep the ribbon in line. The other is like two "C"s. I have this on my Forecast 12,also a SC machine made for Sears....Here you need to fold the ribbon in and it goes in and under the two retaining sides. THAT holds well.

NOW can I fix, bend, reshape the vibrator to it holds the ribbon or better could I find the other vibrator and somehow swap that part out, the "C" type V/s the "U" type? Is this something I should be looking at doing or is this a professional repair?

As far as my skills, I am a locksmith and I am used to working with small parts and fixing things sort of like this, but I do not want to screw up my old dependable machine with my own efforts.

Your help and advise would be appreciated. My thanks for reading this and taking the time to respond.

The Aerojet

20-7-2016 16:53:31  #2

Re: Vibrator slipping ...