You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

08-1-2014 16:25:57  #1

It's a Remington, but....

Hello! Newbie here.
I have the opportunity to buy a Remington Portabel, but I'm having some trouble indentifying it. Can someone help me ? Especially the keyboard. Over here we have azerty, but I've never seen this layout. The owner's doesn't know where her (deceased) father bought it and says it's the original layout. So help :-). The picture is of bad quality, but that's all I got from her

08-1-2014 16:26:32  #2

Re: It's a Remington, but....

as a newbie, have to post at least 2 post before I can post a link...so...

08-1-2014 16:27:41  #3

here it comes  :-)  : http://tinyurl.com/ndrgww5

Last edited by Uwe (03-7-2016 15:57:48)

08-1-2014 19:31:56  #4

More photos would help, but it looks to me like a Remington Portable #1, which were made between 1920-25. As for the bizarre keyboard, it's nothing I've seen before. The obvious guess would be it was for a specific language, but even then, I've never seen the letters arranged in that combination. The biggest clue would be what is written on the shift key, which you can't read in the photo.

It would be funny to find out that someone had replaced the paper for the keys and just messed up their order. 

Hopefully someone here has seen this layout before because I'd really like to know the history behind it too. I would contact the seller and ask for better photos. Actually, if it was me I would just buy it. They only want 35 EUR for it.

And welcome to TT! Let us know if you end up buying it.

The pronoun has always been capitalized in the English language for more than 700 years.

09-1-2014 01:09:05  #5

Thanks Uwe.

In the meanime the deal is closed :-)