You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

15-6-2019 09:14:37  #1

1957 Remington Travel-Riter with issues

Hello I am new to typewriter repairs and I need a little hand holding if that is possible.
Picked up a Travel-Riter recently and the serial dates it to 1957. It was all a bit stiff and siezed but I have got it lossened up and everything is free. The problem I have is the carridge just shoots back my guess is the escapment is not doing it's job, while tinkering it did start to 'grab' but then stopped again. I have found some service manuals but none that related to this model , the closest, I think is a 1960 Remington Monarch , or at least the layout looks quite simalar. I tried to get the carridge and bed of as described in this manual or anotherr for an earlier model but after releasing the draw cord and removing 4 verticle screws  that seemed to be holding the bed in place I could not lift it away the bed was loose and it came of the 2 locating pins but that was it, so rather than damage it I put it back together. I have been looking at removing the escapement unit as a whole thing and taking a closer look, my guess is a bit of rust and or grot and maybe a dislocated spring, but I am just guessing. So if any kind fellows out there have and sage advice or documentation on working with this lovely old typewriter I would be really grateful. Thanks.

15-6-2019 23:46:24  #2

Re: 1957 Remington Travel-Riter with issues

Greetings and welcome to the Forum

Going by your description of the problem and looking at my 1957 Travel-Riter S/N-TR214734, the first thing I would look at is the escapement rack. Is it swinging freely and properly engaging with the escapement pinion? Do the carriage release levers move freely and do you feel the spring tension when you pull either lever forwards? If you hold the space bar down, does the carriage still want to zing to the left?