You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

12-7-2014 08:36:02  #1

Is this remington rand complete?

I found this remington and I like it because of it's history. It was a Navy Typewriter. But are there pieces missing? It seems like it might be missing a cover. or caps over the round spots on the front. (I'm sorry, I'm very new to the typewriter world and don't know a lot yet)

If so, is the cover needed for it to be operational?
And does anyone know what this model is?
thanks!

[img]http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2NlgxNjAw/z/jc8AAOxyItRTd6W6/$_57.JPG?rt=nc[/img][img]http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2NlgxNjAw/z/4t0AAOxy7vJTd6Ww/$_57.JPG?rt=nc[/img][img]http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2NlgxNjAw/z/KoAAAOxyNThTd6XM/$_57.JPG[/img][img]http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2NlgxNjAw/z/JycAAOxyNThTd6Wf/$_57.JPG?rt=nc[/img]

Last edited by comma (12-7-2014 18:34:04)

13-7-2014 16:36:51  #2

Re: Is this remington rand complete?

It looks like a Remington 17.  You are missing a cast aluminium cover which clips over the top of the ribbon spools, and the right hand spool top (like the left one which is present).  The machine will work fine without the cast cover, and you will probably get away without the spool top as well, although keep an eye on the ribbon as you are typing, because without the spools top it might start to ride up on the spool.  My guess is that the spool top went missing, so the last owner took the cast cover off so as to keep an eye on the ribbon - then lost the cast cover as well !

13-7-2014 16:38:20  #3

thetypewriterman wrote: