You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

23-4-2015 20:38:23  #1

Cleaning kits - what's in your case?

Are there any cleaning kits you might recommend for portable typewriters, geared to towards a complete novice when it comes to these delightful machines? Only one of my typewriters came with a brush and I understand dust is a major concern. I also live with a couple dogs and there's always hair floating around, even when I vacuum regularly. What's in your cleaning and maintenence kit? What is the preferred oil you use? Many thanks!

24-4-2015 04:55:38  #2

Re: Cleaning kits - what's in your case?

I have a very wide flat soft water-colour painting brush that I use to swish off dust from the outsides of my machines.  For the type cleaning I use an old hog-hair paintbrush where the bristles have worn down, and also some blu-tack which does lift off recently laid down gunk very well. I also use the hog painting brushes for metal polish on 'rescue' machines which are usually very rusty.
I use some sewing machine oil for the machines themselves, (not in the segments) and WD40 only for rejuvinating old ribbons which I have found works pretty well. Old toothbrushes are always useful, cotton buds are indispensible.
I don't have any special tools, I tend to look about and see what's available and have used tweezers and hair grips to fix springs, and ordinary screwdrivers to sort out loose screws.

24-4-2015 05:41:35  #3

For cleaning up gunky machines I've aquired too much stuff already! Some is stuff I already had on hand, and some I've aquired as I needed them.

-A blower attachment for the air compressor is great for blowing out initial guck and guck released in later steps.
-Naptha (which is similar to mineral spirits)- use this to clean and I also dilute sewing machine oil with it for very light oiling
-singer sewing machine oil
-q-tips (big box)
-old toothbrushes
-turtle wax polishing compound for cleaning outsides