You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

15-5-2015 08:18:09  #1

Olympia SG3 Bell Repair And Advice On Rust Removal.

I am a new into typewriters so I am not experienced.I fixed a few problems on this Olympia SG3 working and the only few problem I have is the bell and the rust that has cover the whole thing(i am not posting any pics but i will at some point).Just imagine a machine left in a bucket outside for 10 years.Yes, I am suprised too.German Engineering maybe? 

15-5-2015 08:34:04  #2

Re: Olympia SG3 Bell Repair And Advice On Rust Removal.

Do post the pictures RockyRoad! I have an SG3 that was MADE of rust when i got it - the whole inside was bright orange. There's damage outside but I cleaened it all up and it looks much nicer now. 

I'm no expert on rust removal. But suffice to say that , even with a split paper feed roller, this is one of my favourite typewriters. It's a dream. 

I've had mixed luck getting bells to work again. I can't even remmber if this one works or not - right now it's under a table in the lodger's room but I've been meaning to retrieve it... you will never regret any work you do to get this machine working well!

15-5-2015 09:00:23  #3

I will take some photos when the weather is nice.I really wanna bring it in my house and use it a bit.I leave it outside because it smell odd.Maybe my lubrication oil.Is dipping the whole thing in vinegar safe. I have tested this method on nuts and bolts and it worked.By the way how did you remove the rust.

Last edited by RockyRoad (15-5-2015 09:08:49)

15-5-2015 11:05:40  #4

RockyRoad wrote:

I really wanna bring it in my house and use it a bit.I leave it outside because it smell odd.