You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

15-3-2016 00:40:52  #1

Cleaning enamel paint

One of my machines has what I think is enamel paint on it.  I tried to clean it with some windex but it seems to have a white haze on it now.  What did I do wrong? Also, is it possible to get these painted? There is a quarter sized spot where some paint came off on a side panel - metal - and it is rusted there.

Smith Premier typewriters are cool!

15-3-2016 13:08:00  #2

Re: Cleaning enamel paint

As far as I know Windex has ammonia in it. I'm not a paint expert, but it's my understanding that ammonia is not good for paint. And depending on the age of your machine, and the life it's had, its paint could be very fragile and easily damaged. It's possible that the Windex has damaged the paint surface of your typewriter, but I wouldn't presume to guess which type of paint it has without knowing its make/model/year. Paint material and techniques changed dramatically over the history of typewriter manufacturing.

Generally speaking, I only use products that were specifically engineered to clean painted surfaces, and mostly automotive products at that, when cleaning a machine's painted parts. And glass cleaner, which can also damage other materials used on a typewriter, is best left to cleaning glass.

The pronoun has always been capitalized in the English language for more than 700 years.

15-3-2016 23:03:41  #3

1921 L.C. Smith.  See link below.  It's not really visible in the picture, only close up.  What do you use? I hear about car wax, but isn't that supposed to go on after it's clean? Sorry, I've never waxed my car so I don't know.

http://typewriterdatabase.com/1921-lc-smith-8.5777.typewriter

Smith Premier typewriters are cool!

16-3-2016 05:30:36  #4

I use auto or rv cleaner (It cleans  better, just gotta be careful more) on my typewriters, and have not had an issue with it.

Back from a long break.

Starting fresh with my favorite typer. A Royal Futura!