You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

10-7-2016 13:11:18  #1

Remington Model 7 Noiseless typing issue

I just became an owner of a Remington Model 7 Noiseless typewriter; its in beautiful condition, and everything appears to work great. However, when I tried to type my first letter, I encountered an odd problem. No matter how many times I adjusted the paper, the text would slowly drift up the page as I typed a line; producing a paragraph that angled up across the page, instead of a nice, neat block.

Another aspect of this is that it does not consistently happen. At one point, I typed an entire paragraph that was perfectly straight, but as soon as I started typing the next one, the text started to drift up.
 I’m brand new to typewriting, so I’m not sure if something needs to be adjusted on the machine, or if I’m just doing something wrong. I’d be very grateful for any advice or suggestions.
 Please let me know if you require any additional information, and thank you for your time.

10-7-2016 13:52:31  #2

Re: Remington Model 7 Noiseless typing issue

I very much doubt that you are doing something wrong.  There are two possibilities as to why this is happening.  The first is that the paper isn't being gripped properly between the platen (large rubber roller) and the small feed rolls underneath it.  This would be wear or maybe the feedrolls could benefit from a clean.  The other possibility is the the linespace mechanism (that rolls the paper up a line at a time) is out of adjustment.  Welcome to the forum !

11-7-2016 19:09:39  #3

I have this happening to one of my portables. Its most likely the line spacing, as above said. 

Back from a long break.

Starting fresh with my favorite typer. A Royal Futura!

12-7-2016 17:19:04  #4