You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

28-1-2015 11:48:52  #1

Smith Corona Corsair Deluxe

Hi everyone!  For starters, I am a typewriter newbie but I do know that the SC Corsair Deluxe is definitely not one of the highest quality machines out there.  I knew that when I bought it but figured I could get my start on it.  I've also seen lots of people using them with good typing results.

The machine seems to be in pretty good shape.  Since the ribbon is obs I had to respool the spools already in the machine which was no trouble.  The reason I replaced the ribbon that came in it is because when I tried to type the letters were extremely faint, and some of them only showed half of the letter.  The ribbon was visibly aged so I got a new one.  After putting the new one in, I still have the same problem.  I then used alcohol and tshirt material to lightly clean the letter stamps (I don't know proper names for these parts so forgive me. ).  Still, same problem.  

Any ideas on what could be causing this and what I should do to try and fix it?

Thanks!

28-1-2015 12:32:25  #2

Re: Smith Corona Corsair Deluxe

Hi Newbie, and welcome to TT. I moved your post to the Repair section. 

Faint type? Since you're new to typewriters, could it be that you're just used to the minimal finger pressure required by a computer keyboard and just aren't typing hard enough? Was the replacement ribbon you used new, or new from old stock (old ribbon that has never been used)? How do the type bars move (the metal arms that fly up to strike the ribbon), easily and quickly, or sluggishly and slowly? I believe your machine has a ribbon colour selector; if so, is it in the black position?

The pronoun has always been capitalized in the English language for more than 700 years.

28-1-2015 13:20:00  #3

Hey there!  Thanks for responding!